Carnitas and Cherry Tomato Salsa in Lettuce Cups

004

I’ve always equated carnitas to slow-cooked, and therefore, too super frickin’ hard to do. But when a friend of mine linked me this recipe, I decided it looked too easy not to try.

Unfortunately, the store was out of pork shoulder, so I used pork belly instead. Cooking with pork belleh is pretty much a slam dunk. It’s actually humanly impossible to ruin pork belly.001

Is it weird that I like the feel of raw meat? I love rubbing spices and shit into my meats. I didn’t have cumin and was hesitant about buying a bag of it when I don’t usually cook with it, so I substituted by using a Jamaican jerk rub. I also added more paprika and chili powder than the original recipe calls for, because we like things pretty spicy here.002

003

After 3 hours in the oven, the pork was actually crispy enough that I didn’t need to slide it back in under the broiler. Maybe I didn’t use enough liquid or something. Either way, it was tender enough that I was able to floff it up with a spoon. A SPOON. Mmm, I like my meats like I like my friends: completely submissive. (*hides from friends*)005

Since Mike and I trying to cut down on carbs, we skipped the tortillas and instead served the carnitas in lettuce cups. I think I actually prefer it this way. The lettuce balanced out the spiciness of the carnitas and added so much freshness to it. It was the perfect summer food. In the winter I might make this again and floff it to simmer in a broth, maybe with beans. Hmmm. Definitely a keeper.

15 thoughts on “Carnitas and Cherry Tomato Salsa in Lettuce Cups

  1. slhuang says:

    I came for the pretty pictures, and then . . . how do you make me laugh this hard writing a FOOD BLOG???

    Cooking with pork belleh is pretty much a slam dunk. It’s actually humanly impossible to ruin pork belly.

    CHALLENGE ACCEPTED.

    Is it weird that I like the feel of raw meat?

    ::starts backing slowly away::

    Mmm, I like my meats like I like my friends: completely submissive. (*hides from friends*)

    Uh . . .

    Maybe I’ll just look at the pretty pictures next time . . .

  2. Jax Reeder says:

    mmmm… i like it when yew rub mah bunneh belleh wid teh spices…. but don’t yew cook me! newp. I am not uh eatin bunneh.

  3. kkellie says:

    Chef Putputt, I have a question: Can I substitute bunneh belleh for pork belleh? Or will it completely putrify the dish?

    🙂

  4. Jax Reeder says:

    Stop eyein up da bunneh belleh! tis not for eatin! is for schnorgling and blowing kisses on and keeping the rest of bunneh from coming out!

Leave a Reply

