Kimchi Jjigae and Bangs

I got bangs!

Yay, bangs!

Yay, bangs!

Can you tell how excited I am about my bangs? See, I think bangs automatically make you look super sweet and innocent, and I need that because this is my usual expression:

Care to repeat that?

In my next book you will be slowly torn apart by hamsters.

Since I work in the wedding industry, I probably shouldn’t look like I am plotting my next kill. . . so here’s to Bangs: When you need to hide your slightly deranged face.

Aaanywho, last night I cooked an old favorite dish of mine: Kimchi Jjigae. Kimchi Jjigae is a Korean stew made with, what else, kimchi. The main reason I love cooking it, aside from the fact that it’s frikkin’ delicious, is that it’s one of those dishes that taste like you’ve slaved away in the kitchen for hours, but is disgustingly simple to make.

003

Kimchi Jjigae Recipe

Ingredients:

– 2 to 3 cups of kimchi, depending on how kimchi-y you like your soup

– 300 g pork belly/shoulder, cut into bite-size pieces. I had leftover pork loin, so I used that instead. You could probably use chicken or beef as well, or leave out the meat altogether and make it a vegetarian dish.Β  No kimchi jjigae police is going to knock down your door and arrest you, probably.

– 1 to 2 tbsp gochujang, depending how spicy you want it

– 1 to 2 tsp sugar

– a bunch of scallions, chopped into 2-inch long pieces

– 1 package firm tofu, cut into bite-sized cubes

– 1 egg

– salt to taste

Directions:

1. Put kimchi, gochujang, scallions, and sugar into pot. If you’re using a fatty cut of meat like pork belleh/shoulder or chicken thigh, put the meat in as well. Since I used loin, I put the meat in about 10 min before serving so I didn’t overcook it. Add enough water to cover 2/3 of the mix and boil for 30 minutes.

001

2. Add tofu (and lean meat if you’re using that) and salt to taste and boil for a further 10 min.

3. Turn off the heat, crack egg into the pot and stir in quickly.

002

4. Ladle into bowls and garnish with sliced scallions. Shamelessly accept praise and keep mum about how brainless the recipe actually was.

004

*Note: You can always add in odds and ends to the stew. I had leftover mushrooms lying about, so I sliced them up and added them to the dish, and they worked really well. Traditional kimchi jjigae recipes don’t usually use eggs, but I like how the egg makes the broth all thick and silky. I’ve also made this with bacon, which worked beautifully. It’s pretty much a fool-proof dish that’s perfect for winter. . . or a rainy English summer.

 

Tagged , , ,

17 thoughts on “Kimchi Jjigae and Bangs

  1. Jeanette says:

    I love Kimchi Jigae! It’s one of my favorites when it’s cold out. When I want something even heartier, I stir in some tuna fish.

  2. being a vegetarian, I would leave out the meat, but everything else sounds great. I suppose I could do that right? Im a huge Kimchi fan!!!

    • putputteats says:

      Definitely! I would substitute the meat with shiitake mushrooms for that umami flavor. Sometimes I do that anyway since shiitake adds so much flavor I don’t really need meat in there.

  3. Jax Reeder says:

    I have no idea what literally any of those ingredients are. Except pork. I believe that to be the reconstituted meat derivative of factory bred, battery caged humans. Everything else you made up for your own nefarious yet inscrutable purposes.

  4. I do love me some kimchi jjigae, although given the option I usually go for chamchi (tuna) jjigae. Now you’ve made me hungry for it. πŸ™‚

  5. Julia says:

    Your bangs are CUTE! I wish I could pull them off! I had never heard of kimchi jigae until reading your post and it looks delicious. Definitely excited to try it!

    • Putputt says:

      Thanks so much Julia! I’m sure you can pull off bangs too…just make sure to go to an actual hairdresser, lol. I was stubborn and did them myself for years and always thought they looked awful on me.

      Do try kimchi jjigae. It’s so comforting, I’m sure you’ll love it!

  6. Pamela says:

    Excellent. I see we’re on the same page when it comes to bangs. (Hehe, thanks for not calling them fringe even though you’re across the pond.)

  7. I love your hair style! Anyway, I wish I can have kimchi jjigae, I bet it can be easily veganised with tofu or vegan meat alternative?

    • putputteats says:

      Thanks Rika! That is so swet of you to say. πŸ™‚

      Yes, you can definitely veganize it. In addition to the tofu, I would put in about 1 and 1/2 cups of sliced shiitakes. They add so much flavor to the stew. You could also try adding enoki mushrooms…those are always delicious in stews!

Leave a Reply

